
 

 

Information and how to apply: This exemption is a $2,000 reduction in the taxable value of residential property, and 

may be claimed by any New Mexico resident for his or her residence. Only one exemption may be claimed for any tax 

year per household. This exemption can be claimed in person or by signing the designated lines below on this form and 

mailing it back to the Assessor’s office. You do not need to sign and return this form if you are already receiving the 

exemption. Once the exemption is claimed and allowed, it shall apply to subsequent years unless the property transfers 

ownership, the property owner moves to a different state, or if the property owner requests for the exemption to be 

removed. 

Exemption Year:________ Account:___________________________ Phone:__________________ 

Owner Name:________________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address:_____________________________________________________________________ 

Head of Family Exemption 

Information and how to apply: This exemption is a $2,000 reduction in the taxable value of residential property, and 

may be claimed by any New Mexico resident for his or her residence. Only one exemption may be claimed for any tax 

year per household. This exemption can be claimed in person or by signing the designated lines below on this form and 

mailing it back to the Assessor’s office. You do not need to sign and return this form if you are already receiving the 

exemption. Once the exemption is claimed and allowed, it shall apply to subsequent years unless the property transfers 

ownership, the property owner moves to a different state, or if the property owner requests for the exemption to be 

removed. 

X____________________________________________ 

 

Declaration of Property 

Classification The 1981 Legislature approved a lower property tax rate for residential property for Tax Years 1981 and 

subsequent years. In order for this tax rate to apply for this tax year, the property owner must declare that portion of his 

or her property, land and buildings that is residential. If this form is not filed with the county assessor by the last day of 

February, then the property will be presumed to be non-residential and will be taxed accordingly. Residential property is 

a home, mobile home or apartment(s) and the land underlying the structures that is suitable for human habitation. That 

portion of the description of property which meets this definition is eligible for the classification of Residential Property 

 

I hearby certify the indicated property is classified as Residential Property as defined by law. 

X____________________________________________ 

 

State of New Mexico, Santa Fe County: 

Affirmation 

I do solemnly affirm to the best of my knowledge that the statements on this form completed and signed by me and the 

preceding list and description are full and correct statements of all property required to be reported pursuant to Section 

7- 38-8 of the Property Tax Code, in this County on January 1 and all statements required to be made under the Property 

Tax Code, and I so affirm under pains and penalties of perjury. 

X_____________________________________________ 

Property Owner of Authorized Agent 

Subscribed and sworn before me this ________ day of ___________ 

______________________________________________ 

Received By : County Assessor or Assessor’s Employee 

Office of the Santa Fe County Assessor 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Head of Family Exemption 


