Sheriff's Office Recruitment
Cadet Program: In order to qualify for a Deputy Cadet, you must have a high school diploma or equivalent. You must be able to pass a physical agility, background and a psychological test. You must also be at least 21 years of age by the time you complete the 22 week academy.
Lateral Program: Laterals must have at least one year of previous experience with a law enforcement agency. Lateral hires shall receive credit for the number of years they served as a law enforcement officer prior to joining the County with a minimum of two years and up to a maximum of five years credit. Lateral hires will only receive credit for prior experience if they are certified by the State of New Mexico Department of Public Safety or receive certification by waiver through the State of New Mexico Department of Public Safety.
Bargaining unit lateral employees shall complete 2 years of continuous service with Santa Fe County Sheriff’s Office to be eligible for incentive positions (investigations, SWAT, FTO, Fatal Team, Warrants.)
How to Apply for Jobs - Click link for online application, downloading manual application, pre-employment information/forms, and other valuable intructions/employment information.
Santa Fe County Sheriff's Office Recruiter:
Corporal James C. Yeager 505-986-2414 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Swing Shift hours (2 PM – 10 PM) will receive a Shift Differential pay of 5% of their hourly rate for hours worked.
Split Shift hours (between the regular Swing Shift and Graveyard Shift hours) will receive a Shift Differential pay of 7.5% of their hourly rate for hours worked.
Graveyard Shift hours (10 PM - 6 AM) will receive a Shift Differential pay of 10% of their hourly rate.