Planning Division - Community Planning Program

Evolution of the Community Planning Program

As unincorporated communities throughout Santa Fe County have experienced growth over the past two decades, community members have realized that planning is necessary to address the issues in a proactive, not reactive manner.  Santa Fe County Ordinance 2002-3, known as the Community Planning Ordinance (linked below), described the process for conducting community plans and provided for County staff to assist communities in developing plans for Traditional and Contemporary Communities.  After approval by the Board, community plans constitute an amendment to the County Sustainable Growth Management Plan (SGMP). 
The Community Planning process utilizes community knowledge and leadership as a mechanism to design land use plans specific to an unincorporated community area.  The intention of the Community Planning program is that local planning supports the continued traditional development of these communities with sensitivity and careful consideration to the land use elements that are consistent with the SGMP, and specific to local systems and settings.   

To date, the County has adopted eleven Traditional and Contemporary Community Plans.  They include the following communities and/or districts:  Los Cerrillos, Madrid, San Pedro, Santa Fe Northwest Area (SNAC), La Cienega, Tesuque, the Village of Agua Fria, the Community College District, Tres Arroyos del Poniente, San Marcos, and the Pojoaque Valley. 
Three Highway Corridor Plans have also been adopted.  They include the Santa Fe Metro Area Highway Corridor Plan, US 285 South Highway Corridor Plan and El Valle de Arroyo Seco Highway Corridor Plan. Plans that were created, but never adopted include the Hyde Park Neighborhood Plan and the Santa Fe Southwest Area Plan. 

2015 Community Plans and Overlays

The Board of County Commissioners (BCC) has adopted Community, District and Corridor Plans and ordinances for communities throughout Santa Fe County.  These plans and ordinance have been developed in accordance with the County Ordinance 2002-3 in coordination with planning committees and community members to create plans that serve as a guide for future development, land use, community facilities, projects and programs for the specific community.

In 2010, the County adopted the Sustainable Growth Management Plan (SGMP) to replace the County’s 1996 Growth Management Plan. In 2013, the County adopted the Sustainable Land Development Code (SLDC) which is the new framework for Countywide land use and zoning regulations.

In 2015, the BCC established Community Planning Process communities in order to implement the existing community plans and ordinance in accordance with the new SGMP and SLDC framework. This process included the following:

  1. Update existing Community Plans, as needed, and to amend the SGMP with those updates.
  2. Develop Community District Overlays to implement the plans through the SLDC through land use regulations specifically tailored to the individual community.
  3. Review draft zoning to be incorporated into the County Official Zoning Map draft as part of the zoning map adoption process.   

Planning staff has worked with communities to complete the 2015 Community Plan Updates.   Please see the links below for specific information regarding the specific communities and documents that have been developed to date.

Los Cerrillos 



San Pedro

La Cienega and La Cieneguilla

El Valle de Arroyo Seco

U.S. 285 South Highway Corridor

Tres Arroyos del Poniente

Village of Agua Fria

Pojoaque Valley

San Marcos