Division of Elections & Voting
Days until voting starts:
109 days
8 hours
Election day is November 5. Polls close at 7:00PM.

Important Information:

General Elections in New Mexico are open for all registered voters to participate, you do not need to be registered with a major party in order to vote. Voters who are not yet registered or who need to change their address can use Same Day Registration to register and vote at any polling location in Santa Fe County.

 November 5, 2024 General Election - Voter Information

In Person Voting

Early Voting - Begins Tues., Oct 8th

Expanded Early Voting - Begins Sat., Oct 19th

All early voting ends Sat. Nov 2nd. There are no open polling locations Sun Nov 3rd or Mon Nov 4th.

Election Day Voting - Tues., Nov 5th.

Important Dates and Information

June 27th - Filing Day for independent, minor party, and judicial retention candidates

July 5th - Certification of independent and minor party nominees

August 27th - Last day for local governments to submit ballot questions, last day candidates can withdraw from the general election, last day to certify Constitutional Amendments and statewide ballot questions

September 21st - First ballots sent to military/overseas voters

October 8th - Last day to register to vote online; absentee ballots to US addresses begin mailing; in-person voting begins at the Clerk's Office during business hours; Same Day Registration begins

October 19th - Expanded early voting begins throughout the county at expanded early voting locations

October 22nd - Last day to request an Absentee ballot. Be advised: ballots may take up to 7 days in the mail each way.

November 2nd - Last day of early voting.

November 5th - Election Day, 7am to 7pm.

Other Information

Candidate Information

Same Day Registration

Major vs. Minor Parties in New Mexico

On the Ballot

United States President

US Senator for New Mexico

US House of Representatives (Districts 1, 3 in Santa Fe County)

State Senate (Districts 5, 6, 19, 24, 25, 39)

State Representative (Districts 41, 43, 45, 46, 47, 48, 50)

Public Education Commission (Districts 4, 10)

District Attorney (1st District)

County Commissioner (Districts 2, 4, 5)

County Clerk

County Treasurer

Magistrate Judge (Division 2)

District Maps

Election Worker Information

Election Worker Application 

Election FAQs