Resolution 2024-038, A Resolution Updating the Purpose and Activities of the Water Policy Advisory Committee and Repealing and Replacing Resolution No. 2019-95

The Water Policy Advisory Committee (WPAC) is a working committee that augments Santa Fe County staff resources by bringing independent expertise, research, and effort to its assigned work. 

The WPAC's primary responsibility is to provide recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) concerning sustainable utility services, domestic water supply and conservation, wastewater management and reclamation, irrigation, drought management, flood prevention and control, and water reuse in the County and region.

The WPAC consists of 19 volunteer members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Members must reside within the exterior boundaries of the County. Membership includes, where practicable:

  • A member of a water system (e.g., mutual domestic water consumers' association, water cooperative, rural water system, or water district)
  • A member of an agricultural organization (e.g., soil and water conservation district)
  • A member of an acequia association
  • A member from the Estancia Planning Area
  • A member from the Galisteo Planning Area
  • A member from the Central Water Planning Area
  • A member from the Northern Planning Area
  • A member from the Buckman Direct Diversion Board, recommended by that board
  • One member per Pueblo, recommended by the following Pueblos:
    • Cochiti Pueblo
    • Name Pueblo
    • Pojoaque Pueblo
    • Santa Clara Pueblo
    • Santo Domingo Pueblo
    • San Felipe Pueblo
    • San Ildefonso Pueblo
    • Tesuque Pueblo
  • A member of the City of Santa Fe Water Conservation Committee, recommended by that committee
  • The remaining membership will be chosen by the Board of County Commissioners from their respective districts

WPAC tasks include the following:

  • Adopt and use the Results-Based Accountability Framework for addressing water issues in the County and develop Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-Bound (SMART) objectives for all its work
  • Develop a workplan to ensure adequate water quality and quantity for a seven-generations ahead water plan for the County
  • Analyze and make recommendations concerning wastewater, including, but not limited to, County wastewater service options for rural and non-densely populated areas of the County, such as distributed wastewater treatment
  • Make recommendations on water issues to the BCC
  • Provide recommendations for new, and updates to existing policies, ordinances, and plans related to subject matters within its scope of responsibility, including, but not limited to: 
    • Drought management and aquifer recharge
    • Incentivization of large- and small-scale water collection and pollutant reduction activities, such as rain gardens and water catchment systems
    • Provision of water and resources for abnormal events, such as flooding, water contamination, or other unplanned water loss.

WPAC Meeting Information

The Water Policy Advisory Committee holds regularly scheduled meetings on the second Thursday of each month at 4:00 p.m. in the Plaza Conference Room located on the second floor of the County Administration Complex, 100 Catron St., Santa Fe, NM 87501. For a complete list of meeting materials, view the information below or visit the County's Calendar of Events.

WPAC Staff Liaisons

Sara Smith
Operations Manager

2024 Water Policy Advisory Committee Meeting Documents

View Document Archives by Year