This division is responsible for the installation and maintenance of all traffic control devices including but not limited to signs and markings, street lights, traffic signals, guardrail installation, road striping and the set up of traffic control devices in work zones for County built projects. Additionally, this division provides utility cut permits, driveway access permits, administers the Speed Hump Ordinance, places Driver Feedback sign trailers on county roads for voluntary speed reduction, conducts traffic counts and has implemented and maintains a Geographic Information System (GIS) associated with the use of the Global Positioning System (GPS) development. 

Traffic Calming Policy

A new traffic calming policy was adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on September 23, 2013 as the previous speed hump policy sunset in July of 2010. This new policy provides a mechanism for local residents to initiate traffic calming in their neighborhoods and allows for the use of appropriate traffic calming tools to help alleviate the negative impacts caused by traffic and speeding vehicles. This traffic calming policy is designed to coordinate the collaboration of County staff and citizens, in an effort to produce effective traffic calming throughout Santa Fe County’s Communities on Santa Fe County maintained roads.


Ordinance 2003-01 (Replacing Ordinance 1994-2),  An Ordinance Regulating Procedures For Working In, Disturbing And Repairing County Property And Rights Of Way

Establishes and defines the responsibilities and standards for the use of public property and rights-of-way, especially regarding excavations and restorations in relation to utilities. The ordinance requires a permit, issued by the County, for any excavation or use of right-of-way. This division administers the permit process and oversees the restoration.

Printable Forms

Contact Us

Santa Fe County Public Works
424 NM Highway 599
P.O. Box 276
Santa Fe, NM 87504-0276
Phone: (505) 992-3010 Fax: (505) 992-3028

We are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., except holidays.