The Board of County Commissioners adopted the Galisteo Community Plan by resolution 2012-36 on February 28, 2012 as an amendment to the Santa Fe County Sustainable Growth Management Plan.

Click To view the PlanGALISTEO COMMUNITY PLAN adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on 2.28.2012[pdf]

Copies will also be available for review at the Galisteo Community Center.

Background on the Planning Process

The initial impetus to commence community planning for the Village of Galisteo began in the 1980s. In 2006, the residents of Galisteo formally begin planning for the future of their community. This was the official start of a collaborative planning process involving both the community of Galisteo and Santa Fe County.

On February 28, 2006 members of the Galisteo Community Planning Committee requested and received authorization from the Santa Fe Board of County Commissioners to begin a community planning process with the goal of developing a community plan for Galisteo. The planning process has resulted in many years of effort by community leaders and stakeholders. The community has worked tirelessly and dedicated many volunteer hours to the community planning process.


Sections of the Galisteo Community Plan draft were presented at two community-wide meetings public open houses, held in June 2007 and April 2008.

The Galisteo planning process was delayed in 2009 as County staff began working on the Sustainable Growth Management Plan (SGMP). However, the Galisteo Planning Committee assisted in formulating some of the directives that were included in the SGMP.

After the completion and adoption of the SGMP, County Planning staff was given authority to reinitiate the Galisteo Planning effort at the beginning of 2011. Through the commitment of dedicated planning committee members and the broad community participation in open houses in the fall of 2011 as well as draft reviews and public hearings, the plan was finally completed and adopted on February 28th, 2012.

A special thanks and highest regards to the planning committee members:

  • Anna Cardenas
  • Freddie Cardenas
  • Wendy Chase
  • Leslie Dilworth
  • Frank Hirsch
  • Lucy Lippard
  • Matthew McQueen
  • Maria Ortiz y Pino
  • Barbara and Philip Pfeiffer
  • Dorothy Victor
  • Roger Taylor
  • Amy and Steve Tremper